The LGBT Equity Center administers a scholarship awarded each academic year.

The LGBT Equity Scholarship is financed by the LGBT Scholarship Fund. Recipients must be full-time students at the University of Maryland, College Park, who have demonstrated a commitment to promoting civil rights for and preventing discrimination against LGBT people.

In June, a call for applications is issued by the Office of Student Financial Aid and the LGBT Equity Center. Awards are determined and awarded for the fall semester. Applicants must submit a short statement (maximum of 2 pages, double spaced) outlining their qualifications for the scholarship. They must also submit an unofficial transcript and at least one letter of recommendation. Further instructions on how to apply are included in the call for applications.

The number of awards and the precise amount depend on the available assets in the endowment. In recent years, the typical scholarship award amount has been $1,500.

Past scholarship recipients:

  • 2016 William Soergel
  • 2016 David Rosenstein
  • 2015 Kuang-Heng (Jason) Hsiao
  • 2014 Hannah Silbert
  • 2013 Jessica Ann Vooris
  • 2012 Jazmine Jordan
  • 2011 Andrew Sabelhaus
  • 2010 Ariel Michael Gore
  • 2009 Aaron Shapiro
  • 2008 Jenna Brager
  • 2007 C.J. Rock
  • 2006 Elizabeth Hagovsky
  • 2005 Brian Hutchison
  • 2004 Mike Ryan
  • 2004 Kate Kuvalanka
  • 2003 Ashton Phillips
  • 2002 Rain Van Den Berg
  • 2001 Dolores Bernal