The LGBT Equity Center administers a scholarship given at the end of the academic year.

The LGBT Equity Scholarship is financed by the LGBT Scholarship Fund and consists of a single $1,500 award. The recipient must be a full-time student at the University of Maryland, College Park, who has demonstrated a commitment to promoting civil rights for and preventing discrimination against LGBT people.

To apply, you must submit a short statement (maximum of 2 pages, double spaced) outlining your qualifications for the scholarship. You must also submit an unofficial transcript and at least one letter of recommendation. Submit materials to Dr. Luke Jensen, 2218 Marie Mount Hall. 2014 application deadline to be announced.

The LGBT Scholarship Fund also provides emergency support for students in financial need because of sexual orientation, or gender identity or expression. For more information, contact Dr. Luke Jensen.

Past scholarship recipients:

  • 2015 Kuang-Heng (Jason) Hsiao
  • 2014 Hannah Silbert
  • 2013 Jessica Ann Vooris
  • 2012 Jazmine Jordan
  • 2011 Andrew Sabelhaus
  • 2010 Ariel Michael Gore
  • 2009 Aaron Shapiro
  • 2008 Jenna Brager
  • 2007 C.J. Rock
  • 2006 Elizabeth Hagovsky
  • 2005 Brian Hutchison
  • 2004 Mike Ryan
  • 2004 Kate Kuvalanka
  • 2003 Ashton Phillips
  • 2002 Rain Van Den Berg
  • 2001 Dolores Bernal